New Cycling Blog – Author Introduction

Sandy Scott

Sandy Scott

 

 

I will be writing cycling/training blogs for both www.masters-athlete.com & www.masters-cycling.com.  For my first blog, let me introduce myself.  

 

I’m Sandy Scott, and I’m proof that it is never too late to start a new sport, I came to cycling quite late in life at the age of 64 when my fiancée, Rose Marie Ray, appeared at my house with two bicycles and announced that we were going for a bicycle ride.  She had no way of knowing what she was about to unleash!

 

I am now a 68 year old avid, Masters cyclist. To say that I am passionate about cycling is an understatement.  Currently, I am the USCF Florida State time trial and road race champion, and the current Florida State Senior Games 5k & 10K time trial champion.  I hold state age group records in both of the latter events.  I train on the bicycle about 24-25 hours weekly and lift weights about three times a week.  I just completed a complete calendar year without missing a single day of training (15,559 miles).  You have to love to work if you want to win.

 

 Last year, GeezerJock magazine awarded me its first annual AMS Masters Athlete Comeback of the Year award.  I suffered a fracture to my C1 cervical vertebrae in a time trial race in 2005 when I made an evasive maneuver to avoid an official who stepped into my path as I approached a turn on Jezebel, my new time trial bike.   It was a long, painful, and miraculous recovery according to my doctor and I have since won 10 Florida State Cycling championships.

 

In my 30s and 40s, I competed as an elite-level runner for the Shore AC in New Jersey, and coached some very successful runners.  Among my teammates was the famous Dr. George Sheehan.

 

My professional careers were as an Eastern Airlines pilot for 25 magnificent years; a motorcycle cop for the city of Palo Alto, CA; and my last position before becoming dedicated to retirement and cycling was as a VP-Sales  for a pilot training facility in Orlando, FL.  I served in the United States Navy.

 

Your comments and requests are encouraged so we can make this blog very interactive.  I can be contacted at my below email address.

 

Sandy Scott

pedalmasher@gmail.com

 

 

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

